VocaloidOtaku.net Forums: Mixing is magic! - VocaloidOtaku.net Forums

Welcome to VocaloidOtaku!

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which means you are limited to some discussions and certain features.
Take a few minutes to browse around. Should you enjoy what you see, register and you will gain access to more stuff.

Registration is simple and fast. It won't take you more than a minute.
Click here to join!
Guest Message © 2018 DevFuse
  • (42 Pages) +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Mixing is magic! Basics, tips and tricks.

#1 User is offline   Fealow Icon

• Icon
  • Group: Members
  • Producers:Deco 27*

Posted 07 September 2012 - 12:00 AM

Hi everyone, you may have noticed me in a few threads around the site (specifically those that involve discussion of audio processing). For those of you who are unfamiliar with me, I shall give you a quick brief.

So what is it that I do?

Primarily I'm a sound/mix engineer (but my skills also cover composing and producing).

What dose that title involve you doing?

As a sound/mix engineer I take a composition in its entirety and turn it into a finished product that sounds appealing and polished to the ears of the listener. This involves using a lot of computer software to fine tune each individual part of the mix so they work with each other as the composer intended to with out stepping on each others feet and fighting for attention. This is done via audio processing, such as EQ, compression, spacial and time FX etc... I can take a good song and make it great, but I can not turn a bad song into a good one! An easy way to think of it is like this:

"One can not make the element AU from poo"